If one state-ranked opponent this week hasn’t been enough, why not include another?

On top of that, why not be the No. 4 ranked team in the state as well?

The Mattoon girls basketball team continued to play competitive basketball this season.

On Tuesday, the team battled state-ranked Mahomet-Seymour before losing 47-41.

Now, MHS hosts an undefeated Lincoln High team to MHS Gym during Wall of Fame Night. 

Lincoln enters Mattoon with a 21-0 record and a 6-0 mark in the Apollo. According to the last state AP poll, Lincoln is ranked No. 4 in Class 3A. The team is also ranked No. 7 according to MaxPreps among all classes in Illinois.

Lincoln was ranked as high as No. 1 but has since slid to No. 2. Lincoln has one of the best players in Illinois – junior Kloe Froebe, who was named a Miss Illinois Gatorade Player of the Year finalist as a sophomore and is already a two-time all-stater.

“Lincoln is solid. They play great defense. They move the ball well and girls knock down shots,” said Mattoon coach Troy Haacke. “Plus, they have one of the best players in the state.  We need to handle their press and not turn the ball over.  Be able to move the ball for good shots, slow Kloe down, and keep her off the boards. She is a great rebounder.”

Mattoon enters the game with a 9-10 record, 1-6 in the Apollo.

“We are looking forward to the challenge,” said Haacke. “It’s a unique experience to bring the number one team in the state into your gym. It’s one the girls will remember.”

Wall of Fame

The Wall of Fame is a decorative honor for former MHS athletes. Each year, the school honors its top athletes from the previous season. The Wall also honors conference-winning teams. Here are those honored for 2021-22.


2021-22 Boys Golf: Evan Diedrich, Stewart Druin, Madden Johnson, Blaine Powers, Will Pullen, Brock Taylor

2021-22 Girls Tennis: Avery Boyer, Lanie Butler, Caroline Davis, Avery Gill, Lily Gregor, Annelise Overmyer

2021-22 Girls Basketball: Ella Conyers, Paige Farmer, Lily Ghere, Anna Jurka, Emily Maple, Faith Niebrugge, Chloe Pruitt, Mallory Ramage, Piper Sanders, Teygen Sewell


Sam Bradbury: All-Apollo basketball, All-Apollo track, track state qualifier

Maya Cook: All-Apollo track, track state qualifier

Brock Davee: All-Apollo cross country, All-Apollo track, state track qualifier, All-State cross country

Kiefer Duncan: All-Apollo wrestling, 3rd place finish at state

Matthew Gordon: All-Apollo football, All-Apollo track

Mallory Ramage: All-Apollo basketball, all-time scoring leader