Mattoon’s Shane Ghere set the school’s career assist record earlier this season. (photo/Ron Ghere)

Mattoon senior Shane Ghere was named to the All-Apollo Conference soccer first team for the second year in a row.

Ghere, who set the Green Wave career assist record earlier this year, was among three local players named to the conference first team.

Teammate Mason Wright, who scored twice in the regional tournament, and Charleston goalkeeper Ben Tresslar were also selected by conference coaches. Tresslar, who was a second team selection as a junior, made 109 saves, recorded six shutouts and had a 74 percent save percentage this past season.

Mason Wright was among the Green Wave’s leading scorers this season. (photo/Ron Ghere)

“Ben was a great leader on and off of the field,” said CHS coach Josh Garrett. “He has a great understanding of the game and was always a player to give great insight into the things we could adjust as a team. He first started playing soccer his freshman year and quickly progressed to the best goal keeper in the area.”

Charleston goalkeeper Ben Tresslar made 109 saves this past season.

Mattoon senior Jakob Weder was named to the all-conference second team for the second successive season as was Charleston’s Blake Garrett. Garrett scored 25 goals to lead the Trojans this past season, and he assisted on seven others.

“He’s a tough match-up for opposing teams and scored some key goals in big moments for us this year,” said Josh Garrett. “I look for him to have an even bigger season next year.”

MHS junior Gavin Gonzalez and CHS senior William Carrillo were also selected. Carillo led the Trojans in assists with 12 and had the second most goals with 14.

“He was a player who really helped to set the tone for how we were going to be playing each game,” Garrett said. “He is an outstanding passer and had a couple amazing goals this year, several from 25 yards or more. His leadership will be missed next year.”

Mattoon, which reached the regional final last week, went 6-2-4 in the conference for third overall behind unbeaten Mahomet and Mt. Zion, which went 9-2-1.  Charleston took fourth at 6-5-1.


Ben Tresslar12Charleston
Osvaldo Angel9Effingham
AJ Beard11Lincoln
Eli Warren11Mahomet
Kadyn Jones12Mahomet
Jacob Janda12Mahomet
Shane Ghere12Mattoon
Mason Wright12Mattoon
Jonathan Oliger11Mt. Zion
Jake Shumaker12Mt. Zion
Derek Austin11Mt. Zion


Blake Garrett11Charleston
William Carrillo12Charleston
Deryl Pleasant12Effingham
Bryan Angel11Effingham
Payton Lanning12Lincoln
Colten Brunner12Mahomet
Nate Lundstrom11Mahomet
Jakob Weder12Mattoon
Gavin Gonzalez11Mattoon
Brock Kennell11Mt. Zion
Preston Good11Taylorville